10 Books Like Eragon that Will Give all Fantasy Fans Sleepless Nights!

0
176
Books like Eragon
We are supported by readers. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Eragon. The name stirs up excitement, thrill, and adrenaline rush in fans. Have you just finished reading the epic story of a farm boy who discovers dragon egg by chance or rereading it for some 10th time? We urge you to look around, there are plenty of books that will let you experience the same emotions and excitements like the series and with the bonus of a new story! Here are 10 books like Eragon that will make you stay up all night, because you just won’t be able to put these down!

1. The Belgariad Series

The Belgariad Set, Books 1-5: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery, Magician's Gambit, Castle of Wizardry, & Enchanter's End Game The Belgariad Series by David Eddings is one of the most popular fantasy books after Eragon and so it should be your first choice after putting down the Eragon series. Even Christopher Paolini, the author of the Eragon series, loves these books! As revealed by him, all the five books of The Belgariad series have a special place in his bookshelf. David Eddings’s series takes a similar backdrop of a young farm boy who has greater things written in his destiny in a riveting and unputdownable tale. 

2. The Harper Hall Trilogy  

The Harper Hall Trilogy: Dragonsong; Dragonsinger; Dragondrums (Harper Hall of Pern) After reading Eragon, you will undoubtedly want to read more young-kids-met-dragon tales. So here’s one brilliant trilogy penned by the legend of science fiction- Anne McCaffrey. The series feature stories about teenage kids Menolly and Piemur and their adventures to save the world from deadly forces. The story of the Harper Hall trilogy is set within the author’s bestselling Dragonriders of Pern series. This version should appeal more to the younger readers with its less heavy and more fun story. 

3. The Chronicles of Dragon Series

The Chronicles of Dragon Collection (Series 1, Books 1-10) The Chronicles of Dragon by Craig Halloran is a must-have book in every fantasy reader’s bookshelf. The series, featuring total of 10 books, will take you on an epic adventure that you will wish never ends! It is an intense story about the fight between evil characters and the son of the Dragon King- Nath. But Nath is trapped in the human body instead of his own dragon skin, which he must get back while also defeating dragon poachers who are readying to commit murders and enslavements. It is a highly recommended series to start reading right now!

4. The Sword of Shannara Trilogy

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy Shea Ohmsford, a young man has to find the Sword of Shannara, which will help him face and even defeat the evil Warlock Lord.

This stunning series by Terry Brooks will remind you a lot of The Lord of The Rings books. The Sword of Shannara Trilogy is a nail-biting, exciting and enriching and hence will satiate your cravings for a riveting read after Eragon. 

5. Malazan Book of the Fallen series

Steven Erikson 10 Books Collection Set (Vol. 1-10) (The Malazan Book of the Fallen) This 10 book series will make you fall in love with your favourite genre all over again. There are so many things that author Steven Erikson got right in this series. This series brings together fantasy with the history that makes it so much more engaging and a must-read. The characters, most of them nonhuman are the heroes of the story. It is fun, it is exciting and it is extremely well written. Add these to your buy now cart!!

6. The Wheel of Time series

The Complete Wheel of Time Set 1-14 TRADE PAPERBACKS The list featuring books like Eragon is incomplete without mentioning this series by Robert Jordan. This mesmerizing series includes a total of 14 books, which delve into the world of fantasy like no other. The wheel of time will literary transport you, making you feel a part of the highly imaginative tale.

7. The Scorched Series

Scorched (Scorched series) by Mari Mancusi (2014-08-05) This series is very similar to Eragon. A young girl called Trinity Foxx finds a dragon egg and her world is set to change completely. She gets visited by a dragon hunter from the future who warns her of a dragon war about to take place. Trinity must stop the war to save herself from grave danger. Though this three-part series by Mari Mancusi lacks the brilliant imagination of Eragon, it is filled with plenty of action and fire breathing dragons to make you want to pick it up and stop only until you have completed the entire series. 

8. Earthsea Cycle Series

Earthsea Cycle Set ( Books 1- 6 ) This fantasy series is a must-read for fans of Christopher Paolini novels. The Earthsea Cycle includes a total of 6 books that tell the marvelous story of the greatest sorcerer, Sparrowhawk, and his adventures with power, ancient dragons, and even death. This series, penned by Ursula K Le Guin, is one of the most read and loved books in this genre. It has also gone on to win several awards including National Book Award, Pushcart Prize, and six Nebula Awards. Need more reasons to start reading it?

9. Fablehaven Series

Fablehaven Complete Set (Boxed Set): Fablehaven; Rise of the Evening Star; Grip of the Shadow Plague; Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary; Keys to the Demon Prison This 5 book series might be aimed at kids, but adults with an interest in adventurous tales about magical creatures will love it too. This series has a gripping story by author Brandon Mull and illustrations by Brandon Dorman that capture your attention even more at the most important moments. The story is about siblings Seth and Kendra who find out that their grandparents take care of a sanctuary that is meant for magical creatures. 

10. Mistborn Series

Brandon sanderson mistborn series 6 books collection set Another gem for fans of Eragon is the Mistborn series by the genius Brandon Sanderson. The series featuring total of 6 books takes you on the magical journey of heroes, villains, mystical creatures coming together in an unforgettable and thoroughly enjoyable tale. 

That’s all about tales of dragons and other magical creatures. Never stop your search for the most amazing stories and continue reading!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here